Skip to main content

Faculty Recognized as Outstanding Instructors

First Year Courses Outstanding Instructor award winners

Seven faculty members were named 2016 First Year Courses Outstanding Instructors during an awards ceremony April 27, 2017. At the awards ceremony, Associate Vice President for Student Success Dr. Eugene Palka acknowledged the commitment of all nominees and spoke to the important role that Student Success Seminars play in the retention of freshmen students. He also spoke to his own experience and fondness for teaching Student Success Seminars.

Each honoree was nominated by one or more first-year students in his/her Student Success Seminar for being an impactful, inspiring, student-focused instructor during the fall 2016 semester. Nominations were solicited through EKU Students Today and the First Year Courses website. This year, there was a record number of nominations in the College-Specific category and awarded mutiple winners in two categories.

Instructors we nominated in the following categories:

GSD 101Z Learning Communities

Brittany Bell, Mark Maier, Matt Schumacher (winner), Starr Wentzel (winner), and Lakin Wooldridge

GSD 101 Returning Instructors

Sierrah Anderson, Steve Fohl, Dennis Hasty, William Keaton (winner), Sharon Lee, Patti Matthews (winner), Marina Prewitt, Jaime Roberts, and Ashley Sweat

GSD 101 Regional Instructors

Kristy Hampton (winner), Jason Jordan, Linette McPhetridge, and Sandra Stevens

GSD 101 New Instructors

Jillian Faith, Stephen Howard, Joshua Shipp, and Lara Vance (winner)

College-Specific Student Success Seminars

Anthony Adams (BTO), Patricia Alexander (BTO), Dominic Ashby (ASO), Suzanne Byrd (ASO), Joseph Carucci (ASO and winner), Mary Clements (HSO), James Dantic (EDO), Jamie Fredericks (ASO), Carla Hagan (BTO), Jennifer Hight (HSO), James Hinerman (HSO), Krista Kimmerl (BTO), Michael Land (JSO), James Lawson (JSO), Peggy McGuire (EDO), Jennifer Miller (ASO), Lynette Noblitt (HON), Katie Patton (HON), Randi Polk (ASO), Raglena Salmans (HSO), Stephen Sumithran (ASO), Melissa Vandenberg (ASO), and Jennifer Wies (ASO)

Published on May 01, 2017

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/