Skip to main content

Alpha Lambda Delta

History of the Organization

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honors society for first-year students. It was founded in 1924 by the Dean of Women, Maria Leonard, at the University of Illinois to recognize academic excellence among freshmen women. One year before, Dean Thomas Arkle Clark had founded Phi Eta Sigma, an honor society to recognize excellence among freshmen men. Both groups operated as single sex organizations until the mid-70’s, when both became co-educational.

Alpha Lambda Delta became a national organization through the chartering of several chapters in the late 1920’s. Today, there are over 280 chapters and over one million students have been initiated. The chapter at Eastern Kentucky University was chartered in 2005.

Alpha Lambda Delta continues to celebrate academic excellence among first-year students. The Perpetual Fellowship Fund exceeds $5 million and provides over 50 undergraduate, 20 study-abroad and 28 graduate fellowships.

Membership Requirements

  • You must have a 3.5 or higher Grade Point Average (on a 4.0-point scale), or the equivalent.
  • You must be enrolled as a full-time student pursuing a baccalaureate (Bachelor's) degree.
  • Freshman transfer students from institutions that do not have an Alpha Lambda Delta chapter, to be eligible for membership, must have the required Alpha Lambda Delta grade point average on the courses taken during the first full curricular period at EKU.  In addition, the cumulative average of the grades of the student's transfer credits combined with the grades in the institution in which the student is currently enrolled must equal the Alpha Lambda Delta academic grade requirement.

If you meet the above requirements, you should receive an invitation from EKU's ALD Chapter via email.  If you meet the above requirements and have not received an invitation to join Alpha Lambda Delta, contact the Chapter Advisor, Travis Martin, at   

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/